Cleeve, Brian (1921-2003)
The Brian Cleeve collection consists of manuscripts, correspondence, and other material.

Manuscripts by Cleeve in the collection includes material related to his novels, short stories, and his Dictionary of Irish Writers.  The collection includes several of drafts of various unpublished novels, as well as material for some unfinished novels.  Manuscript material for the novels may include variant drafts, notes, research, corrected page proofs, and other items.  Titles present in the papers include Unfinished Symphony: a Novel Based on the Life of Felix Mendelssohn; The Death of Everyman; Death of a Wicked Servant (Hammond, 1963); Vote X For Treason (Collins, 1964); The Judas Goat (Hammond, 1966); Violent Death of a Bitter Englishman (Random House, 1967); You Must Never Go Back (Random House, 1968); The Triumph of O’Rourke (Doubleday, 1972); Sara (Coward, 1976); Kate (Coward, 1977); Judith (Coward, 1978); and Hester (Cassell, 1979).  Also present is manuscript material related to a number of Cleeve’s short stories, including page proofs for the collection The Horse Thieves of Ballysaggert and Other Stories (Mercier Press, 1966).  The papers include correspondence and manuscript material related to Cleeve’s original Dictionary of Irish Writers (Mercier Press, 1967) as well as to the revised and enlarged Biographical Dictionary of Irish Writers, edited by Cleeve and Anne M. Brady (St. Martin’s, 1985).    

Other manuscripts by Cleeve include drafts of three stage plays: The Traitor (1962/63?), A Case of Character (1962), and Achilles Among the Women (1956/57), all unproduced; drafts of three teleplays: Comeback (1960-63), The Voodoo Dancer (1961), and Death of a Painted Lady; and an undated adaptation of one of his novels (never produced).

Correspondence in the collection is primarily professional, and includes letters between Cleeve and a variety of editors, agents and publishers.  There are three letters to Cleeve from poet Robert Graves, two dated 1950 and one undated.

Other items in the collection include a number of signed contracts; various reviews of Cleeve’s works; seven photographs of Cleeve and his family; his baptismal certificate; and the Edgar Alan Poe Award from the Mystery Writers of America for Cleeve’s short story “Foxer.”

Cleeve is represented in the book collection with editions of the following titles: Assignment to Vengeance (Random House, 1962), Death of a Painted Lady (Random House, 1963), Death of a Wicked Servant (Hammond, 1963), Dark Blood Dark Terror (Random House, 1965), Dictionary of Irish Writers (Mercier Press, 1966), The Fourth Mary (Cook Books, 1982), Tread Softly in this Place (John Day, 1973), Violent Death of a Bitter Englishman (Random House, 1967), and Vote X for Treason (Collins, 1964).
Notable Figures
1. Cleeve, Brian Talbot, 1921-
Associated Subjects
1. Mystery and Suspense Fiction Subject Guide
2. Literary Collections Subject Guide
3. Irish Collections Subject Guide