Cotterell, Geoffrey (1919-2010)

The Geoffrey Cotterell collection consists of manuscripts, printed material, correspondence, professional material, diaries, notebooks, research material, photographs, personal memorabilia, and scrapbooks.

Manuscripts include those for Cotterell’s novels, essays, and a short story. Novels include This is the Way (1947), Randle in Springtime (1949), Strait and Narrow (1951), Then a Soldier (1957), Tiara Tahiti (1963), Go, Said the Bird (1966), Bowers of Innocence (1970) and Amsterdam: The Life of a City (1972). Also included are Cotterell’s essay manuscripts “It’s Good to be Back,” “Love Life Sentence,” “Manoeuvre,” and “Want a Quiet Life” as well as the short story “Love Him Aunt Lucy.”

Printed material includes news articles written by Cotterell’s family and friends, magazines and newspapers dating between 1937 and 1957, posters, and advertisements.

Correspondence includes professional and personal letters dating from 1942 to 1948.

Professional material includes notes and business cards.

Diaries and notebooks include a diary dated 1946-47 and several untitled notebooks.

Research material includes drafts, notes, and an unidentified interview transcript in German.

Photographs include black and white prints of Cotterell (1932), among others.

Personal memorabilia includes Cotterell’s school transcripts (1927-1930) and a certificate of honor for John Cotterell.

The collection includes a scrapbook entitled “Anthony Cotterell clippings (1935-44).”

Notable Figures
1. Cotterell, Geoffrey, 1919-
Associated Subjects
1. Literary Collections Subject Guide
2. English literature – 20th century
3. Authors, English