Cowley, Joy (1936- )
The Joy Cowley collection consists of manuscripts, printed material, correspondence, and a journal.

Manuscripts by Cowley in the collection include her novels (all published by Doubleday) Nest in a Falling Tree (1967); Man of Straw (1970); Of Men and Angels (1973); The Mandrake Root (1976); The Growing Season (1979); Kingdom Come (unpublished); and others.  Manuscripts for children's books by Cowley include The Silent One (Knopf, 1981); Salmagundi (Oxford University Press, 1985); A Day in Town (Shorthand Publications, 1987); Busy Baby (Wright Group, 1989); The Old Woman's Nose (Wright Group, 1989); The Cabbage Princess (Prentice, 1989); The Man Who Never Told the Truth (Wright Group, 1990); Yellow Overalls (Shorthand Publications, 1990); Bow down, Shadrach, illustrated by Robyn Belton (Hodder & Stoughton, 1991); Bunrakkit (Wright Group, 1993); The Springtime Rock and Roll (Ribgy, 1996); Giant on the Bus (Rigby, 1999); and several others.  Also present are drafts of short stories, essays, poems, and plays, as well as Cowley's drafts for more than twenty essays and lectures on the subject of spirituality.

Printed material includes published fiction and non-fiction by Cowley, as well as reviews and publicity regarding Cowley.

Correspondence in the collection includes personal and professional letters to and from Cowley, dating from the 1970s and 1980s.  The correspondence includes letters to and from Roald Dahl (1971-1978).

The collection also includes a journal kept by Cowley in 1977 during her trip to South America and the Galapagos Islands.
Notable Figures
1. Cowley, Joy
Associated Subjects
1. Women's Studies Collections -- Novels and Short Stories Subject Guide
2. Literary Collections Subject Guide
3. Children's Literature Subject Guide