Delderfield, Ronald (1912-1972)

The Ronald Delderfield collection consists of manuscripts for his writings.

Manuscripts for histories in the collection include Napoleon’s Marshals (Chilton Books, 1966) and Imperial Sunset: The Fall of Napoleon, 1813-1814 (Chilton, 1968). Manuscripts for other books include The Adventures of Cornet Cavendish (unpublished, written ca. 1931-1932); Big Fish Small Pond (unpublished, written ca. 1950); Under an English Sky (Hodder and Stoughton, 1965); Too Few for Drums (Simon and Schuster, 1964); A Horseman Riding By (Hodder and Stoughton, 1966; Simon and Schuster, 1967); Cheap Day Return (Hodder and Stoughton, 1967), published in the U.S. as Return Journey (Simon and Schuster, 1967); For My Own Amusement, an autobiography (Hodder and Stoughton, 1968; Simon and Schuster, 1972); The Green Gauntlet (Simon and Schuster, 1968); Come Home Charlie and Face Them (Hodder and Stoughton, 1969), published in the U.S. as Charlie Come Home (Simon and Schuster, 1976); God Is an Englishman (Simon and Schuster, 1970); Overture for Beginners, an autobiography (Hodder and Stoughton, 1970); and Theirs Was the Kingdom (Simon and Schuster, 1971).

Other manuscripts by Delderfield in the collection include the play The Vanguard (an American adaptation of Worm’s Eye View ); the teleplays The Offending Hand and My Dearest Angel ; the radio play The Day of the Sputnik ; the prologue to the radio piece Spark of Judaea, broadcast on the BBC in Spring of 1969; and approximately three thousand pages of unidentified manuscripts regarding the “Swann Saga.” Also present are four notebooks, as well as some notes taken as background research for Too Few for Drums .
Notable Figures
1. Delderfield, R. F. (Ronald Frederick), 1912-1972
Associated Subjects
1. Literary Collections Subject Guide