Dewhurst, Eileen (1929- )
The Eileen Dewhurst collection primarily consists of manuscripts.  These include manuscripts and galleys for Dewhurst’s novels Curtain Fall (MacMillan, 1977; Doubleday, 1982); Drink This (Collins Crime Club, 1980; Doubleday, 1981); Trio in Three Flats (Doubleday, 1981); Whoever I Am (Collins Crime Club, 1982; Doubleday, 1983); The House that Jack Built (Collins Crime Club, 1983); There Was a Little Girl (Collins Crime Club, 1984; Doubleday, 1986); Playing Safe (Collins Crime Club, 1985; Doubleday, 1987); A Private Prosecution (Collins Crime Club, 1986; Doubleday, 1987); A Nice Little Business (Doubleday, 1987); The Sleeper (Doubleday, 1988); and early sketches and outlines for Roundabout (Severn House, 1998), Death of a Stranger (Severn House, 1999), and Double Act (Severn House, 2000).  Also present is a synopsis for an unpublished novel titled No Love Lost, as well as a fragment of the manuscript.  Finally, there are two notebooks in the collection containing material for Curtain Fall, Drink This, There Was a Little Girl and Playing Safe.

Other material in the collection includes a photograph of Dewhurst from 1986; 32 printed articles by Dewhurst, mostly personal essays, published in the Liverpool Daily Post (1963-1968); and 8 brief reviews of her novels.
Notable Figures
1. Dewhurst, Eileen
Associated Subjects
1. Literary Collections Subject Guide
2. Detective and mystery stories, English – Women authors
3. Women authors, English
4. Detective and mystery stories, English
5. Fiction