Greenberg, Joanne (1932- )

The Joanne Greenberg collection includes manuscripts, correspondence, and other items.

Manuscripts by Greenberg in the collection include her novels (all published by Holt except where noted) The King’s Persons (1963); I Never Promised You a Rose Garden, writing as “Hannah Green” (1964); The Monday Voices (1965); In This Sign (1968); Founder’s Praise (1976); A Season of Delight (1981); The Far Side of Victory (1983); Of Such Small Differences (1988); No Reck’ning Made (1993); Where the Road Goes (1998); Appearances (2006); and some unpublished works, such as Jubilee Year. Also present are numerous short stories, including pieces published in the collections Summering (1966); Rite of Passage (1971); High Crimes and Misdemeanors (1979); With the Snow Queen and Other Stories (1991); and Driving Louise (2013). Other manuscripts by Greenberg include poetry, reviews, and articles.

Correspondence in the collection consists of personal and professional letters, dating from 1941 to 2004. The correspondence includes numerous letters from Greenberg’s agent, Lisel Eisenheimer. Notable correspondents include Millen Brand, Abraham Burack, Joyce Carol Oates, Charles M. Schultz, Cynthia Ozick, and Rex Stout.

Other material in the collection includes printed reviews, programs, and pamphlets; photographs of Greenberg and her family; financial items; several notebooks; artwork, including mock-ups for book covers and jackets; and research material, including several items regarding deafness, American Sign Language, and deaf culture.

Notable Figures
1. Greenberg, Joanne
Associated Subjects
1. Women's Studies Collections -- Novels and Short Stories Subject Guide
2. Literary Collections Subject Guide
3. Jewish Studies Subject Guide
4. Helen Deutsch Research Section