Hughes, Langston (1902-1967)
The Langston Hughes collection includes manuscripts, correspondence, and printed materials.

The collection includes manuscripts for Journey into Space: A Musical Adventure for Baritone, Trumpet, and Drums; “Dream Variations”; “Homesick Blues” (inscribed to Lydia Lachenschmidt); “Prothalamion #2 and Thirty Pastorals” (with handwritten note); “The Backlash Blues” (inscribed to Arthur Spingarn); “Doorknobs,” and “Strange Angel.” All poems are signed by Hughes.

The collection includes correspondence, both personal and literary, to Herbert Roch, Arthur Spingarn, LeRoi Jones, Clarence Major, Richard Bruce Nugent, Jules Schwerin, and Constance Maxon. Also included are letters from Hughes to Mr. T.M. Campbell of Lincoln University and Mr. Cole of Atlanta University. A telegram invitation for Hughes’s memorial service from Hughes’s family to Spingarn is present, as well.

Printed materials consist of an advertisement for Fight for Freedom; “Langston Hughes: Poet of the People” (brochure by Milton Meltzer); “The NAACP and Adam Clayton Powell” (brochure); “The Negro Speaks of Rivers” (score, with music by Howard Swanson).

The collection also includes a signed agreement between John W. Rumsey (Pres. American Play Company) and Hughes, regarding additions and changes in the play “Mulatto” in 1935.
Notable Figures
1. Hughes, Langston, 1902-1967
Associated Subjects
1. African American Collections -- Poetry Subject Guide
2. Literary Collections Subject Guide
3. LGBT Subject Guide
4. Poetry Subject Guide
5. The Hollywood Ten and the Blacklist Era Subject Guide