Kauffmann, Lane (1921-1988)

The Lane Kauffmann collection includes manuscripts, professional materials, and correspondence.

The collection includes manuscripts for novels, short stories, non-fiction items, and other items.

Collected novel manuscripts, published by Lippincott unless noted, include An Honorable Estate (1964), Another Helen (1968), Plot of Grass (1970), and The Villain of the Pierce (Dial Press, 1973). Also present in the collection are a number of unpublished items, including Innocent Bystander, The First of Claude, The Growth of the Heart, Huddling Place, Pieces of the Jigsaw, Stay for an Answer, and an untitled novel.

Collected short story manuscripts include "The Butterfly," "By the Rivers of Babylon," "The Deadline," "Gesture," "Grand Central," "Love Scenes," "Middle Distance," "Miss Duncan and the Nautilus," "Narrow in Time," "Once Having Left Us," "A Parable," "Plenty of Time," "The Perfect Patient," "The Sun Always Moves West," and "White Roses."

Collected non-fiction manuscripts include "Spain and Its Literature" and "Ethic" (incomplete).

An untitled play, various poems (1939-1979), and notes constitute additional materials.

Professional materials consist of subject files regarding Another Helen, An Honorable Estate, A Lesser Lion, The Perfectionist, A Plot of Grass, Six Weeks in March, Villain of the Piece, and Waldo. Files include publicity items; reviews; correspondence with agents and publishers; royalty records; contracts; and copyright documents.

The collection also includes two letters regarding the Warren Commission.

Associated Subjects
1. Literary Collections Subject Guide
2. Motion picture authorship
3. Authors, American
4. Editors
5. Screenwriters
6. American literature--20th century