Lanham, Edwin (1904-1979)

NOTE: All or part of this collection is stored off-site. Several days' advance notice is required for retrieval.

The Edwin Lanham collection includes manuscripts, correspondence, and printed materials.

The collection includes manuscripts for Lanham’s novels—Death in the Wind, Passage to Danger, and The Paste-Pot Man—as well as for “Asphodel,” a short story.

Collected correspondence documents Lanham’s exchanges with his mother and friends (1910-23). Letters from Lanham’s school to his mother regarding his academic standing may be of particular interest.

Printed materials in the collection include proofs of Speak Not Evil, Monkey on a Chain, The Wind Blew West, The Stricklands, and Double Jeopardy. In addition to assorted newsclippings, the collection also contains tearsheets of 39 short stories that appeared in publications such as Colliers, Liberty, Harper’s Bazaar, Argosy, Redbook, and Good Housekeeping; titles include “Madame,” “The Admiral,” “The Slave with the Magic Charm,” “Fraulein,” “Go to Sleep,” “Bitter Legacy,” “The Pretzel,” “Wall Flower,” “The Five-Pound Goldfish,” and “Yesterday’s Hero,” among others.  Print copies of Another Ophelia, Thunder in the Earth, and The Stricklands are also present, as is a notebook of press clippings pertaining exclusively to Sailors Don’t Care.

Notable Figures
1. Lanham, Edwin, 1904-1979
Associated Subjects
1. Literary Collections Subject Guide