Maddux, Rachel (1912-1983)
The Rachel Maddux collection includes manuscripts, notebooks, correspondence and miscellaneous other material.

Manuscripts collected include The Green Kingdom, Volume I (1967); The Green Kingdom Volume II: The Time of Innocence, including notes on the manuscript and a typescript with holograph additions singed by Rachel Maddux, January 1968; The Green Kingdom, Volume III: The Time of History; The Green Kingdom Volume IV: The Fulcrum (1957), including copies of chapters six, seven, and eight (1953); Abel’s Daughter (Harper, 1960), A Walk in the Spring Rain (University of Tennessee Press, 1970); A Different Game; The Orchard Children; and various other short manuscripts and fragments.

Notebooks include original folders, notebooks, and composition books with writing from The Green Kingdom series and Abel’s Daughter.

Correspondence includes personal letters between Rachel Maddux and her husband, daughter, and parents, and various other correspondence files including a letter from Ingrid Bergman.

Miscellaneous documents are mostly personal and include a black leather “Business Year Book”; several manuscripts by her husband, King Baker; a dairy; a calendar; financial records; legal papers; a transcript of child custody case; and a scrapbook of reviews.
Notable Figures
1. Maddux, Rachel, 1913-1983
Associated Subjects
1. Women's Studies Collections -- Novels and Short Stories Subject Guide
2. Literary Collections Subject Guide
3. Helen Deutsch Research Section
4. American literature -- Women authors
5. Women authors, American
6. American literature--20th century