Monsey, Derek (1921-1979)
The Derek Monsey collection includes manuscripts, printed material, personal memorabilia, photographs, tapes, and correspondence.

Manuscripts in the collection include Monsey’s novels The Adulterer (1966); August for the Family (1974); A Brief Exposure and Other Stories (1967); The Hero (1961); Luke (1975); Its Ugly Head (1959); The Quiet City (1957); and an unfinished novel.  The plays Every Other Night (1973); Less than Kind; The Mobius Strip; and The People in the Play are also included, as well as various teleplays, articles, and notes of Monsey’s.

Printed material in the collection includes articles written by Monsey, dated between 1945 and 1961, notices and announcements about Monsey and Yvonne Mitchell, materials pertaining to Monsey’s political career, and research tear sheets.

Personal Memorabilia in the collection consists of personal printed items, play programs, postcards, sketches, and military buttons.

Photographs in the collection include around 100 photos of Monsey and his family, some from the early 20th century.

Audio in the collection include two reel-to-reel tapes of the end of The Hero, and a radio interview with Monsey.

Correspondence in the collection includes both personal and professional letters, contracts, and statements. Notable correspondents include Sir Max Beerbohm, Penelope Gilliatt, and Blanche Knopf.
Notable Figures
1. Monsey, Derek, 1921-1979
Associated Subjects
1. Literary Collections Subject Guide