Moorehead, Caroline (1944- )
The Caroline Moorehead collection includes manuscripts, research material, correspondence, printed material, and photographs.

The manuscripts for Moorehead’s books are fleshed out by her extensive research files, compiling various notes, articles, letters, photographs, and other documents regarding her subjects. Titles present include Bertrand Russell: A Life (Sinclair-Stevenson, 1992); The Lost Treasures of Troy (research only; Weidenfeld and Nicolson, 1994); Dunant’s Dream (Carroll and Graf, 1999); Iris Origo: Marchesa of Val d’Orcia (John Murray, 1999); Gellhorn: A Twentieth-Century Life (Holt, 2003); Human Cargo: A Journey Among Refugees (Holt, 2005); and The Collected Letters of Martha Gellhorn (Holt, 2006).

Also present are her scripts for the BBC television program Human Rights, Human Wrongs, as well several hundred pages of manuscripts for her “Prisoners of Conscience” column in the London Times.

Correspondence in the collection consists of letters to and from Moorehead, dating from 1969 to 2004. There is also a file of correspondence with Freya Stark, dating from 1948 to 1993.

Printed material in the collection includes proofs of Moorehead’s books with her corrections, including Iris Origo, Gellhorn, The Collected Letters of Martha Gellhorn, and Selected Letters of Martha Gellhorn. Also included are several newspaper and magazine clippings, either published writings by Moorehead or articles regarding her.

Photographs in the collection consist of ten black and white prints, reproductions of prints from ca. 1870-1871 and 1935-1936 regarding work done by the Red Cross in France and Ethiopia. These were used for Moorehead’s book Dunant’s Dream.

Notable Figures
1. Moorehead, Caroline
Associated Subjects
1. Women's Studies Collections -- Journalism Subject Guide
2. Journalism Subject Guide
3. History and Biography Subject Guide