Yates, Richard (1926-1992)
The Richard Yates collection primarily consists of manuscripts; some correspondence and printed items are also present.

Manuscripts for books by Yates in the collection (all of which exist in multiple drafts and versions) include eleven short stories, written between 1947 and the 1960s (two were published, in Cosmopolitan and Transatlantic Review); Revolutionary Road (Atlantic-Little, Brown, 1961); the short stories that compose Eleven Kinds of Loneliness, separately and as a the complete book (Atlantic-Little, Brown, 1962); Disturbing the Peace (Delacorte, 1975); The Easter Parade (Delacorte, 1976); A Good School (Delacorte, 1978); seven stories from the collection Liars In Love (Delcorte, 1981); Young Hearts Crying (Delacorte, 1984); a screenplay adaptation of William Styron's Lie Down in Darkness (1985); Cold Spring Harbor (Delacorte, 1986); a script proposal titled The World on Fire (1989); and Uncertain Times (an unfinished novel).

Other items in the collection consist of a contract for Revolutionary Road dated July 19, 1960; several letters from Yates to various individuals (1967-1992), including many to Geoffrey Clark and Henry DeWitt; an interview with Yates; and a cassette recording of an interview with Yates (1971).
Notable Figures
1. Yates, Richard, 1926-1992
Associated Subjects
1. Literary Collections Subject Guide
2. Authors, American